Proving Ground -- A Story About the ENIAC Programmers


This week, a new, empowering book hit the shelves and it's a read that we know you won't be able to put down.


Book Description

"Fans of Dava Sobel's The Glass Universe and Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures are in for a treat" (Publisher's Weekly) with this untold, World War II-era story of the six American women who programmed the world's first modern computer.


After the end of World Ware II, the race for technological supremacy sped on. Top-secret research into ballistics and computing, begun during the war to aid those on the front lines, continued across the United States as engineers and programmers rushed to complete their confidential assignments. Among them were six pioneering women, tasked with figuring out how to program the world's first general-purpose, programmable, all-electronic computer - better know as the ENIAC - even though there were no instruction codes or programming languages in existence. While most students of computer history are aware of this innovative machine, the great contributions of the women who programmed it were never told -- until now.


Over the course of a decade, Kathy Kleiman met with four of the original six ENIAC Programmers and recorded extensive interviews with the women about their work. PROVING GROUND restores these women to their rightful place as technological revolutionaries. As the tech world continues to struggled with gender imbalance and its far-reaching consequences, the story of the ENIAC Programmers' groundbreaking work is more urgently necessary than ever before, and PROVING GROUND is the celebration they deserve.


About the Author

Kathy Kleiman is a leader in Internet law and policy and currently teaches at American University Washington College of Law. Her passion for finding the truth behind these female programmers led to her founding the ENIAC Programmers Project, which completed a documentary on the subject of this book titled "The Computers: The Remarkable Story of the ENIAC Programmers." The film premiered at the Seattle International Film Festival in 2014 and won the UNAFF Grand Jury Award For Best Short Documentary at the United Nations Film Festival in 2016.


Social Links & How to Purchase the Book

You can purchase your own copy of this book here: https://www.grandcentralpublishing.com/titles/kathy-kleiman/proving-ground/9781538718285/


Other Social Media Links:

https://eniacprogrammers.org/

TW: @KleimK @ENIACProg

IG: @GrandCentralPub

FB: @GrandCentralPub

#ProvingGround

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All